Category Archives: Homeland Security

How Does NTAS (National Terrorism Advisory System) Work?

A – NTAS will now consist of two types of advisories: Bulletins and Alerts.  DHS has added Bulletins to the advisory system to be able to communicate current developments or general trends regarding threats of terrorism.  NTAS Bulletins permit the Secretary to communicate critical terrorism information that, while not necessarily indicative of a specific threat against the United States, can reach homeland security partners or the public quickly, thereby allowing recipients to implement necessary protective measures.  Because DHS may issue NTAS Bulletins in circumstances not warranting a more specific warning, NTAS Bulletins provide the Secretary with greater flexibility to provide timely information to stakeholders and members of the public.

As before, when there is specific, credible information about a terrorist threat against the United States, DHS will share an NTAS Alert with the American public when circumstances warrant doing so.  The Alert may include specific information, if available, about the nature of the threat, including the geographic region, mode of transportation, or critical infrastructure potentially affected by the threat, as well as steps that individuals and communities can take to protect themselves and help prevent, mitigate or respond to the threat.  The Alert may take one of two forms: Elevated, if we have credible threat information, but only general information about timing and target such that it is reasonable to recommend implementation of protective measures to thwart or mitigate against an attack, or Imminent, if we believe the threat is credible, specific, and impending in the very near term.


Real ID Enforcement

Arkansas is compliant with the REAL ID Act. Federal agencies can accept driver’s licenses and identification cards from Arkansas.

Secure driver’s licenses and identification documents are a vital component of a holistic national security strategy. Law enforcement must be able to rely on government-issued identification documents and know that the bearer of such a document is who he or she claims to be. REAL ID is a coordinated effort by the states and the Federal Government to improve the reliability and accuracy of state-issued identification documents, which should inhibit terrorists’ ability to evade detection by using fraudulent identification.

As of October 2016:

You can continue to use your license to fly in the U.S. and access Federal facilities and nuclear power plants.

As of January 22, 2018:

You can continue to use your license to fly in the U.S. and access Federal facilities and nuclear power plants.

As of October 1, 2020:

License must be REAL ID compliant.

Frequently Asked Questions

The following frequently asked questions are available regarding the implementation of the REAL ID Act.