Crawford County, Arkansas


Image result


Crawford County is a county located in the Ozarks region of the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 61,948, making it the twelfth-most populous of Arkansas’s seventy-five counties.[1] The county seat and largest city is Van Buren.[2] Crawford County was formed on October 18, 1820 from the former Lovely County and Indian Territory, and was named for William H. Crawford, the United States Secretary of War in 1815.[3]

Located largely within the Ozarks, the southern border of the county is the Arkansas River, placing the extreme southern edge of the county in the Arkansas River Valley. The frontier county became an early crossroads, beginning with a California Gold Rush and developing into the Butterfield Overland Mail, Civil War trails and railroads such as the St. Louis and San Francisco Railway, the Little Rock and Fort Smith Railroad, and the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railway. Today the county is home to the intersection of two major interstate highways, Interstate 40 (I-40) and I-49. Crawford County is part of the Fort Smith metropolitan area. As a dry county, alcohol sales are generally prohibited, though recent changes to county law provide for exemptions.

Thousands of self-claimed “Western Band of Cherokee” (or Arkansas Cherokees) fought for state and federal recognition as a political entity of Native Americans. Crawford County was historically part of the Cherokee Nation, which lost its tribal sovereignty status as a result of the U.S. Civil war in the 1860s. The Cherokee Nation was subsequently relocated to the west in the present-day state of Oklahoma




  • Chester
  • Rudy Rudy USA small town situated along the Arkansas Missouri Railroad and the beautiful Frogg Bayau, a stream that flows an emerald green color most of the time. The Frog was named by an early explorer named Frooge. The area around Rudy was once known as a center for peach and apple production. With the influx of cedar trees, which blight peach and apple trees, production has changed to chicken and turkey farms as well as Gmao production of beef and sheep. The Rudy Store has revived as a merchant offering country breakfasts and hearty lunches,

Unincorporated community


Townships in Arkansas are the divisions of a county. Each township includes unincorporated areas; some may have incorporated cities or towns within part of their boundaries. Arkansas townships have limited purposes in modern times. However, the United States Census does list Arkansas population based on townships (sometimes referred to as “county subdivisions” or “minor civil divisions”). Townships are also of value for historical purposes in terms of genealogical research. Each town or city is within one or more townships in an Arkansas county based on census maps and publications. The townships of Crawford County are listed below; listed in parentheses are the cities, towns, and/or census-designated places that are fully or partially inside the township. [12][13]


  1.  “State & County QuickFacts”. United States Census Bureau. Retrieved May 20, 2014. 
  2.  “Find a County”. National Association of Counties. Archived from the original on 2011-05-31. Retrieved 2011-06-07. 
  3.  Gannett, Henry (1905). The Origin of Certain Place Names in the United States. Govt. Print. Off. p. 95. 
  4.  “2010 Census Gazetteer Files”. United States Census Bureau. August 22, 2012. Retrieved August 25, 2015. 
  5.  “County Totals Dataset: Population, Population Change and Estimated Components of Population Change: April 1, 2010 to July 1, 2015”. Retrieved July 2, 2016. 
  6.  “U.S. Decennial Census”. United States Census Bureau. Archived from the original on May 11, 2015. Retrieved August 25, 2015. 
  7.  “Historical Census Browser”. University of Virginia Library. Retrieved August 25, 2015. 
  8. Jump up ^ Forstall, Richard L., ed. (March 27, 1995). “Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990”. United States Census Bureau. Retrieved August 25, 2015. 
  9.  “Census 2000 PHC-T-4. Ranking Tables for Counties: 1990 and 2000” (PDF). United States Census Bureau. April 2, 2001. Retrieved August 25, 2015. 
  10.  “American FactFinder”. United States Census Bureau. Archived from the original on 2013-09-11. Retrieved 2011-05-14. 
  11.  “Dave Leip’s Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections”. Retrieved November 18, 2016. 
  12.  2011 Boundary and Annexation Survey (BAS): Crawford County, AR (PDF) (Map). U. S. Census Bureau. Retrieved 2011-08-25. 
  13.  “Arkansas: 2010 Census Block Maps – County Subdivision”. United States Census Bureau. Retrieved May 27, 2014.,_Arkansas


Comments are closed.